Are You an Ass – or is that me?


One thing I have noticed as I grow more mature [some will still dispute that 🙂 ] is that I remember sayings my Mother used to use frequently. I did not always understand from whence they came – or even to what they pertained … but remember them I do!

I could never quite get my head around the ‘assume’ one – When you assume, you make an ass out of you and me.  Well that was until today when I read what Henry Ergas in The Australian  said while exposing the ridiculously optimistic basis for the government’s carbon tax modelling. (Thanks to Australian Climate Madness for the info).

THE one thing you need to know about Treasury’s modelling of the carbon tax is this: it assumes that by 2016, the US and all the other developed economies that do not have carbon taxes or emissions trading systems in place will have them up and running.

This implies that in next year’s US presidential election, likely to be fought at a time of high unemployment, the winning candidate will campaign on the basis of introducing a carbon tax that will go from zero to $30 a tonne in a matter of months. And that tax will then not only get through Congress but in record time.

Moreover, that feat accomplished, by 2021 China will sign up too, and with 14 per cent of the world’s population and barely 20 per cent of world income, will agree to shoulder 34 to 35 per cent of the costs of global mitigation. As part of that deal, China’s leadership will accept a fall in national living standards, relative to business as usual, of between 5 and 10 per cent, while per capita incomes in the far wealthier US and European Union decline by a fraction of that amount. And with China on board, the rest of the world will join the party. (source)

Now in politics nothing is certain. You would be a real twit to bet on anything a politician tells you as being truth as you or I understand that word. Take for example a very recent, and some would say still ‘raw’ comment from Prime Minister Gillard.

There will be no Carbon Tax under the government I lead

To you and I that means there will be NO Carbon Tax whilst Julia is leading the Labor Government. To Julia it means a Carbon Tax will be introduced in 2012.

Obviously we, as members of the general public ASSUMED Julia meant one thing when quite obviously she meant something very different. By virtue of our assumption, Julia has made an Ass out of You and Me!

We must never assume that which is incapable of proof
G.H. Lewes

Most of us can read the writing on the wall; we just assume it’s addressed to someone else.
Ivern Ball

Before a man speaks it is always safe to assume that he is a fool. After he speaks, it is seldom necessary to assume it.   H. L. Mencken

Every time I started going in the direction of thinking how it might turn out, I started to just turn my brain around and not go there, because I think the surest way to guarantee that you won’t win is to assume that you will.  Brad Bird

I always assume that democracy is the only good form of government, quite frankly, and democracy is always to be preferred.
Jeane Kirkpatrick

I don’t know why they’re doing it. I have to assume that their motives are positive, not negative. But they don’t understand the severity of the problem in this state.  Gray Davis

So please don’t assume you can trust or understand anything you have been told, particularly by a politician – always ask for clarification, “did I understand you correctly?” – THAT WAY WHEN YOU FIND THEM OUT IN A LIE, or a blatant miscalculation, you won’t feel such an ass!

About JustMEinT Musings

I like writing, reading and expressing my opinions. I prefer natural health and healing to pharmaceutical drugs. Jesus Christ is my Lord and Saviour.
This entry was posted in Carbon Tax, Carbon Tax, CO2, ETS, GENERAL MUSINGS and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Are You an Ass – or is that me?

  1. Truer words were never spoken. Obama is the “liar in chief” . For an interesting exercise, google the lies of Obama.
    Blessings on you and yours
    John

  2. Faye Rod says:

    I am still amazed how our leaders can stare down the camera and declare bunkum as if they actually believed it. As to Global warming etc. economists & scientists all base their assumptions on theory and they will go down in history as asses but the citizens of the countries they are influencing will pay dearly. I really feel certain people in power (or wannabees) have rightly judged people as easy to be deceived, they have lost the ability to think for themselves and maybe too scared to have an opinion due to the rise of “political correctness”

    • Ah yes, the dumbing down of the masses……..
      Why is it that so much time is given over to sport and cooking shows on the television?
      Seems these are far more important that science, technology, politics and REAL news.

  3. Merilyn says:

    Real News, haven’t seen that in a long time. Have learnt more by reading blogs and opinion pieces then the news you see and hear these days,

    As for the global warming “scam” just follow the money, have a look at who is making the money, Al Gore, Tim Flannery, Ross Garnaut, IPCC [UN], then look behind them to see who could be pulling the strings, e.g. is it George Souros or someone else?

    Then look to see who is getting the power in the Governments, for example 10% of all monies raised will be going to the UN for the “poor Countries”, but when you see just which countries that the money will be going to, you really have to wonder about this scam.

    • doing some wondering myself. What with this Carbon Tax Credit Scam about to unfold….. who (maybe) within our Government and their spouses maybe going to rake in zillions when this scam starts?

  4. Merilyn says:

    Just noticed that I spelt Soros with a u, sorry about that. Two other names that you may see are Jack Beale and Maurice Strong, when following the money.

Comments are closed.