>I Miss Gertie Duck ~~~


>

I miss Gertie Duck, everyday she would look
through the hole in the gate at me.
I’d open it up and in she would walk
quite bold – to our garden with glee.
She never looked glum and always she’d come
for the bread I’d feed to the birds.
She’d gobble her share never giving a care
then she’d dig in the dirt for the worms.
But sadly one day Gertie strolled on her way
down the road for adventures bold.
She never came back to our ‘little shack’
and our loss leaves us empty and cold.
Our garden is bare for Gertie ain’t there
to gobble her share of the food.

But the worms can now dance as they do have a chance
to sing songs and live life anew!

~~~~~~~~~~
TRUE STORY:    every once in a while something real happens that helps me sit and scribble. Gertie was a pet duck who resided a few houses down from us in Snohomish WA.  Every day she came to visit, and I would feed her scraps of bread. Then one day we saw her waddling down the road …….. She was never seen again …….  I miss Gertie Duck!
About JustMEinT Musings

I like writing, reading and expressing my opinions. I prefer natural health and healing to pharmaceutical drugs. Jesus Christ is my Lord and Saviour.
This entry was posted in THE MUSE. Bookmark the permalink.