>Find The Turkey


>

In the United States there is a day set aside each year for Thanksgiving. This year it will fall on Thursday 25th of November (2010).

It is easily understood as a Harvest Festival, occurring in the autumn (fall), when all the crops are in (so to speak). In 1621, near the end of the Plymouth colony’s first year in America, the settlers gave thanks for a plentiful first harvest. The pilgrims and the natives celebrated together (they had arranged a peace treaty), and everyone feasted on geese, ducks, deer, corn, oysters, fish and berries.

There is actually no record of turkey ever being served at that first celebration, but as the wild bird was plentiful and tasty too boot, it did become the bird of choice down thru the years.

For ‘we’ member’s of God’s Family here in Tasmania, we have much to be thankful for everyday of our lives. We only have to look around at the myriad of blessings bestowed on us; from having the freedom to worship Him openly, to being able to sleep in a comfortable bed, with a roof over our head and food in our stomachs.

Yet, I too take all that for granted regularly, sometimes forgetting to say ‘thank you Lord’ for providing for me bountifully.

DH and I have a very special Thanksgiving Holiday memory I would like to share with you. It occurred our first year here on the Island, back in 2003.

We were still learning our way around the place and did not know the neighbours very well yet. It seems a turkey (yes the bird variety) had escaped from a local backyard, and come a wandering up our street.

Perhaps it was spooked by a passing car, whatever? Suffice to say it attempted to leg it over a neighbours front fence, came a cropper and broke said leg. It got entangled  and was trapped. Poor thing it did struggle and was in distress because it could not free itself.

Well the neighbour sought DH’s assistance to free the bird, which DH disentangled and brought back to our home. He then located the gobblers owner, only to be told in exasperation to ‘keep the wretched bird; it is a darn nuisance escaping all the time.’

What a gift! And what perfect timing too! It was Thanksgiving holiday time in the USA.

I am a city girl, born and bred, what do I know about killing and plucking barn yard fowl? Sweet nothing! This was a real adventure folks I can tell you.

DH gave the frightened bird a Tassie Brew (beer) to help it calm down and relax… after all we did not want a toughened bird roasting in the oven next day. The condemned bird enjoyed a fine repast – last meal and (as the saying goes) forgave his executioner

The original owner came over and helped DH ‘do the deed’ – as they say in the classics ‘off with his head’! And then we had work to do. Folks I have never seen so many feathers….. Even the dog was enjoying running around the yard chasing them.

What a feast we had…… free, gratis, courtesy of the Lord…. Jehovah-jireh, Our Provider, who’s grace is sufficient for me.

Don Moen – Jehovah Jireh (click to play)

Jehovah Jireh my provider
His grace is sufficient for me
For me, for me
Jehovah Jireh my provider
His grace is sufficient for me

The Lord shall provide all my needs
According to His riches in Glory
The Lord shall provide Himself a lamb for sacrifice
Jehovah Jireh takes care of me
Of me, of me

Jehovah Jireh my provider
His grace is sufficient for me
For me, for me
Jehovah Jireh my provider
His grace is sufficient for me

The Lord shall provide all my needs
According to His riches in Glory
The Lord shall provide Himself a lamb for sacrifice
Jehovah Jireh takes care of me
Of me, of me

this is the text for “MY SPOT” Sunday 17.10.10
About JustMEinT Musings

I like writing, reading and expressing my opinions. I prefer natural health and healing to pharmaceutical drugs. Jesus Christ is my Lord and Saviour.
This entry was posted in CHRISTIAN. Bookmark the permalink.