>My Spot – My Family


>

In Our Little Church which has an active family of anything from 8 – 15 members each week, we are all given the opportunity to share with each other, how God is working in our lives.

We can talk about this Divine action, we can show a short movie or video presentation, do a scripture reading and explain its relevance for (me) right now, read a poem, have a specific song/hymn played and sung or simply tell it as it is.

This weekly presentation is affectionately called ‘My Spot’.

‘My Spot’ fell to me this week, and as always it took a while to decide what I wanted to share with my brother’s and sisters, but I believe this is what I was meant to share:

I had lots of ideas, from continuing with my Darling K’s “FAMILY OF GOD” theme from a few weeks ago, to trying to explain the television definition of “FAMILY”  (which irritates me immensely) – and these days does not resemble anything like Mom, Dad and the kids – married and living a ‘normal’ life with its up’s and downs, but heaps of love showing – like it was on TV when most of us were growing up – and like it was for me also growing up.

The TV shows today mostly have messed up people playing at pretend family games….

Not much affection or respect is shown, and lots of arguments, profanity and sexual references are there.

Think about Roseanne….. Think about Two and a Half Men…. think about Home and Away or the Rafters…

Then think back to programs like the Dick Van Dyke Show or Happy Days. These shows portrayed families where morals were a strong feature of the programming, and troubles and crisis’ were worked on together, with love, most especially in difficult times.

There was no need to have to try and explain sexual innuendos to the kids or cover their ears, or find an excuse for sending them out of the room. They were good CLEAN family shows back then… suitable for the entire family right?

And that got me thinking of what it’s like in my family – (our family of two) Just K and I. This week we will celebrate a small milestone – we will be married TEN YEARS. It is second time around for both of us, so we each carried some history into the marriage.

Neither of us was overly young and emotionally foolish when we said I DO! (some would dispute that perhaps), but with time and hindsight maybe they have forgiven us, as we have shown to the world, but more importantly – to each other, that we are ONE, and are in it for the long haul.

Not every day is a bed of roses – some days are thorny and some days are kind of dandy – lion-y and weedy, but we do our best to respect each other and talk disagreements through.

Mostly we sail through these occasional troubled waters, because we give them over to God. We have strong Christian Principles, and both turn off, or refuse to watch, listen to, or read non Christian or vulgar media etc. It is a blessing having a loving partner who shares these values.

When K and I met – that very first day in Sydney, we took a walk to a local church – which was actually open mid week, and placed ourselves before The Lord God. Of course we could have done this anywhere, but it just felt ‘right’ to kneel together at the Throne of Grace and ask God to be IN CONTROL.

It has been that way ever since. Of course we are not ever going to agree on everything; age, nationality, upbringing, our past histories and experiences, that male – female thing —— all can get in the way, but so long as we respect each other and BOTH have the Lord God firmly FIXED as ‘driver and director’ of our marriage, then I believe we will be heading in the right direction.

Anyone here remember the TV show: Father Knows Best? I reckon HE DOES……. Our Father God knows best!

And the other blessing we both recognize…. (our marriage is full of blessings )— is having you all with us, as our extended family of God.

Thanks one and all.

You will notice we say “brother and sister” ’round here,
It’s because we’re a family and these folks are so near;
When one has a heartache, we all share the tears,
And rejoice in each victory in this family so dear.
Chorus
I’m so glad I’m a part of the Family of God,
I’ve been washed in the fountain, cleansed by His Blood!
Joint heirs with Jesus as we travel this sod,
For I’m part of the family,
The Family of God
From the door of an orphanage to the house of the King,
No longer an outcast, a new song I sing;
From rags unto riches, from the weak to the strong,
I’m not worthy to be here, but PRAISE GOD! I belong!
About JustMEinT Musings

I like writing, reading and expressing my opinions. I prefer natural health and healing to pharmaceutical drugs. Jesus Christ is my Lord and Saviour.
This entry was posted in CHRISTIAN. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to >My Spot – My Family

  1. Isabella says:

    >very Good my friend

  2. Rosalie says:

    >As a past member of this same family, can I say Well Done Good and Faithful Servant.Love and Hugzz Rosalie xx

Comments are closed.