>Putting things into perspective ~~


>Most of us here will have grown up hearing and using cliché’s – they are part of the western vocabulary. I bet all of us will have at one time or another used any one of these:

I am only human
Such is life
It seemed like a good idea at the time
What goes around comes around


One of my Mother’s favorites (as I was growing up) was “Put things into perspective.”

I guess I never really did understand what she was getting at during my formative years. Now as I am maturing (some would dispute that statement) I am able to understand more, what she really meant.

Where, you might ask did this revelation come from, and what has it to do with Jesus? Let me enlighten you please.

This month we celebrated My Husband’s 71st birthday. He received a few emails congratulating him and wishing him a happy day!

One of those emails he received was from my younger Son, and in his email, as a passing thought he made some comment (tongue in cheek I believe) about Hubbie being a Poor Old Fella! (Probably a younger person a 29 year old, looking at a 71 yr old as being ancient!).

I was extremely humbled when I read my Husbands reply to My Son. Let me share it with you.

“Mate”, let me tell you that “poor” is a relative term. I’m rich in loved ones and friends.

Your Mum loves me and God loves me. Now is that poor?

I’m rich in experiences and have had some great adventures on four continents and two oceans.

I’ve been inside the pyramids of Egypt; I’ve walked the streets where Jesus walked. I was baptized in the Jordan;

I’ve climbed mountains in the US and slid down their snowy slopes with ice axe in hand!

I’ve sandbagged flooding rivers to save homes and leaned out of aircraft at 10,000 feet to close an emergency hatch.

I was the back seat jockey in a jet fighter when I was 18.

I’ve been to the top of the Empire State Building in New York.

I have been on a ship in a typhoon and seen green water come over the bow….. I was only six years old leaving the Philippines before the Japanese attacked.

I’ve seen dolphins jumping off the bow of a troop ship crossing the Atlantic on my way to Germany. I’ve seen whales breech in Alaska next to the boat when I was catching salmon.

I’ve crawled through 747 aircraft bellies to make sure things were being done safely.

I was part of the management team that put the worlds only stealth bomber together.

I started working when I was 13 and retired when I was 58. Then taught “safety” to people in two states and managed a “food bank” to feed the poor.

And “Mate”, I’ve had the love of two good women. One for 42 years (she is now at peace); and one…. your mum, for nearly six years. If that isn’t rich, I don’t know what is.

You are right about one thing; I’m an old fella, but I am not poor.

I say that I am a Blessed Old Fella !

Now my dear friends if that isn’t putting things into perspective I don’t know what is.

I was very humbled reading my Husband’s reply to my Youngest Son…… but then an email arrived in my own box which seemed to pull the whole thing about putting things into perspective ——- INTO PERSPECTIVE FOR ME.

It read something along these lines:

GREG CHAPPELL Australian Cricket Legend
A cricket ball / bat in my hands are worth about $6.
A cricket ball / bat in Greg Chapel’s hands is worth an Australian Captaincy! It depends on whose hands it’s in.

VENUS WILLIAMS World Class Tennis Player
A tennis racket is useless in my hands.
A tennis racket in Venus Williams’ hands is a championship in the making!
It depends whose hands it is in.

MOSES – Parting the Red Sea
A rod in my hands will keep away a wild animal or maybe if I am lucky- catch me a fish.
A rod in Moses’ hands will part a mighty sea.
It depends whose hands it is in.

DAVID versus GOLLIATH
A sling shot in my hands is a kid’s toy.
A sling shot in David’s hand is a mighty weapon.
It depends whose hands it’s in.

FIVE LOAVES & TWO FISH
Two fish and 5 loaves of bread in my hands is a couple of fish sandwiches. Two fish and 5 loaves of bread in God’s hands will feed thousands.
It depends whose hands it’s in.


JESUS CHRIST NAILED TO THE CROSS
Nails in my hands might eventually produce a birdhouse or hang up a picture.
Nails in Jesus Christ’s hands will produce salvation for the entire world.
As you see now, it depends whose hands it’s in.

So put your concerns, your worries, your fears, your hopes, your dreams, your families and your relationships in God’s hands because…

It depends whose hands it’s in.

NOW AIN’T THAT PUTTING THINGS INTO PERSPECTIVE???
The right perspective!

AMEN.

About JustMEinT Musings

I like writing, reading and expressing my opinions. I prefer natural health and healing to pharmaceutical drugs. Jesus Christ is my Lord and Saviour.
This entry was posted in CHRISTIAN. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to >Putting things into perspective ~~

  1. Joseph says:

    >I saw your comment over on another member's post today.. Thank you for sharing this and for your obedience.Glory be to God. Be blessed beloved,josephhttp://www.serious-things.com

  2. >Thanks for calling in Joseph, hope you will come back soon.

Comments are closed.